8 Worldly Affairs   Leave a comment

World is samsara, i.e cycle where all sentient beings continue to take birth and death  perpetually according to their own karma (action). There are 31 planes of world from good to worst. Most worlds are corporeal, substantial, tangible, materials, while few are only in the mind (waves) existence. About the world’s phenomenon, usually, it is pronounced as the 8 worldly concerns or conditions or winds in internet. However, the better word is to describe as 8 worldly affairs.

It is originally referred as the ‘Asta loukik Dhamma’, i.e. The 8 world affairs, which keep fleeting as impermanent as its nature (continually changing), not under someone’s authority (no control); it is therefore, buddha said not to remain attach or detached too much sensually; renunciation of it in order to become truly happy. Because it keeps happening.

They are as follows:

i) Happiness and Pain:

“Pain is certain, suffering is optional.” Buddha

ii) Gain and Loss:

Buddha says, don’t cling to what you gain and what you lose.

iii) Praise and Criticism:

“Even as a solid rock is unshaken by the wind, so are the wise unshaken by praise or blame.” Buddha

iv) Fame and Insignificance


Let our mind be never shaken by above 8 worldly affairs. These are sources of suffering only as it doesn’t last long. Do continue the vipassana meditation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: