Dependent Origination   Leave a comment

The Buddha’s teaching is the description of how this wheel of life, death and rebirth continues rolling on. The insight into all the links of the chain of existence is expressed in what is called the Law of Dependent Origination or interdependent or conditional arising or co-arising. If we are interdependent with everything and everyone, even our smallest, least significant thought, word, and action have real consequences throughout the universe. Throw a pebble into a pond. It sends a shiver ripples across the water surface. Everything is inextricably interrelated. We come to realize that we are responsible for everything we do, say, or think.


# Pali (Sanskrit) Usual Translation Other Reference Remarks
1 Avijja (Avidya) Ignorance   Lack of wisdom, which is the root of all evils. Obscuration as to self of persons and self of phenomena.
2 Sankhara (Samskara) Karma formations Compositional action Wholesome or unwholesome thoughts, speech and bodily deeds. Volitional actions.
3 Vinnana (Vijnana) Consciousness   6 consciousnesses:  eye-consciousness, ear-consciousness, smell-consciousness, taste-consciousness, touch-consciousness, and thought-consciousness.
4 Nama-rupa Name & form Corporeality & mentality Mental & physical existence. 4 mental aggregates and one physical body.
5 Ayatana (Shadayatana) Six bases Six sense organs/spheres Eye, ear, nose, tongue, touch and mental faculty.
6 Phassa (Sparsha) Sense impression Contact A mental factor and period in which the objects, sense power/organ and consciousness come together, causing one to distinguish an object as pleasurable, painful or neutral.
7 Vedana Feeling Sensation Posited as a mental factor that experiences pleasure, pain and neutral feeling. Pleasure leads to a strong desire for more while pain generates an avoidance desire.
8 Tanha (Trishna) Craving Attachment A mental factor that increases desire but without any satisfaction.
9 Upadana Clinging Grasping A stronger degree of desire. 4 basic varieties: desired objects, views of self, bad system of ethics and conduct; and other bad views.
10 Bhava (Bjava) Process of becoming Existence A period lasting from the time of fully potentialized karma up to the beginning of next lifetime.
11 Jati Rebirth    
12 Jara-marana (Jaramaranam) Ageing & Death Decay & Death  


This is not regarded as a linear path, but a cyclical one in which all links are connected to all other links. Every end is a new beginning.

Posted January 14, 2020 by arjunlimbu in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: